Assault Weapon Ban

At their September meeting, the Jamestown Democratic Town Committee unanimously voted to support a resolution calling upon all elected officials at the local, state, and national levels to work toward a ban on the sale and use of assault type weapons.

Assault type weapons with high capacity magazines have been responsible for the carnage in El Paso, Texas; Dayton, Ohio; Parkland and Orlando, Florida; and Newtown, Connecticut.  The committee cited these cases, the legal precedent of the 2008 ruling of the Supreme Court that “dangerous and unusual weapons” may be banned, and the political precedent of the seven states and the District of Columbia that have already enacted legislation restricting assault weapons in support of their resolution.

The resolution has been forwarded to the Jamestown Town Council, state elected officials, and members of Rhode Island’s congressional delegation.  To read the complete resolution, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.